July GlossyBox Review

It’s that time of the month again when subscriptions are rolling out, and I have now received both my Birchbox and my Glossybox subs! Sometimes I will get a post up on these straightaway, and sometimes I will wait a few days to a week to put up a post like this, dependent on how busy I am or whether I want to test out some of the products first. In this case, I received my Birchbox about a week ago, and my GlossyBox two days ago.

So anyway, Glossybox this month seems to have no particular theme to it, however all the products received this month are full sized. I’ll be doing as I did last month and linking you to the products and letting you know the prices of the products, so let’s get on with it!

IMG_1169 copy

It’s a pretty good looking box.

IMG_1171 copy

Hairon Detangling Brush (RRP £6.99)

So this essentially looks like a cheaper version of a tangle teaser. I actually very nearly bought a Tangle Teaser the day I came home to my GlossyBox. As I’ve mentioned before, my hair is really damaged, and sometimes it’s physically painful to try and brush my hair, particularly when wet. It’s also really useful for my daughter Emmie, who has thick curly hair. I don’t usually brush her hair except when wet, or if she gets one of those dreadlock-like knots that curly hair usually gets. Anyway. Pretty happy with this, particularly that it’s duck egg blue, which is one of my favourite colours :]

IMG_1172 copy

Blank Canvas Cosmetics F20 Buffer Brush (£12.51)

Makeup Brushes are something I reallllly need more of, so super happy with this. The brush is synthetic/vegan which I’m super happy about, however the bristles are still super soft, which some synthetic brushes aren’t. I haven’t tested it out yet, but I look forward to seeing how it compares to my Real Techniques buffer brush.

IMG_1173 copy

Utan & Tone Nourishing Night Cream (RRP £25, £12.50 for this size)

This isn’t something I’ll be using as I don’t use fake tan at all. I just don’t use it because I don’t like the smell of it, and fake tan looks very obviously fake on me, which I don’t like. However, I’m impressed with this as the trial size of this product, which is quite expensive, is half of the actual product if you buy it online, which is pretty good.

IMG_1174

Hawaiian Tropic Lip Gloss in Island Berry (RRP £6.99 reduced to £3.49)

I’m not usually into lipglosses, but I have been trying to get into them more recently instead of just wearing my liquid lipsticks all the time. This one smells amazing. It reminds me of my teenage years when these kind of Juicy Tubes lipglosses were all the rage, but there is a big difference with this one: it isn’t sticky at all. It doesn’t seem like it will have a bunch of lasting power, however it smells and tastes so delightful I wouldn’t mind reapplying several times… lol

IMG_1175 copy

Icona Milano Waterproof Mascara (RRP £13.04)

Couldn’t find a linkable webpage for this. A new waterproof mascara! Maybe this will finally be the one that works for me!

Total worth of products: £48.53*

Overall thoughts:
A pretty good box. Only one item I’m not likely to use from the bunch. It hasn’t blown me away, but the items that are there are pretty useful, and the price of the box to me is justified in particular if I like that makeup brush, as I would pay £10+ for a good makeup brush. Thumbs up.

Kirsten xo

*price of the products is calculated by the price I can find it for either on the products’ website, or at a popular retailer such as Boots. If I cannot find the item/price, I will use Glossy’s RRP from the leaflet. The amount calculated is the full price for fullsize products, and calculated down by amount for trial sizes.

Leave a comment