Never-Ending Summer (July Birchbox Review)

Hello, lovelies!

I know, I know. It’s been over a week since my last post. But I do have a very good excuse (and no, it’s not Pokémon Go):

See, we’re having a bit of a heatwave in the UK this week. Yes! Good old Blighty with a temperature above the teens! For anyone using Farenheit I’ll save you the hassle – it’s been up to 90. No, don’t start shouting at me! “But Kiiiiiirst, that’s not even that hot!”
It is for the UK! And it certainly is for a Scot with translucent skin! I went to Spain last month and the temperatures are HOTTER. The hottest we got in Spain was 27 degrees.

But anyway. My computer is in our bedroom and both the room and the computer get very hot. And sitting in that kind of environment does not a happy Kirsten make.

So today I’m up and dressed early (it’s currently 7:30am), it’s relatively cool at the minute (which is still hot for me by the way, at 23 degrees), and I’m gonna bang out some stuff I’ve been meaning to for a minute, and see how far I can get.

So let’s got on with it.


 

This is a bit late but I’m gonna do it anyway and hope you haven’t seen a bunch of them already, but this is my review for the July 2016 Birchbox!

The box this month is in collaboration with Millie Mackintosh, though I’m not really sure what that means, and it’s kinda pretty. I mean, I wish that they had kept the drawer thing going from the Paradise box, but I can deal. The pink watercolour stuff is nice.

IMG_1162 copy

So let’s get right to what was inside:

IMG_1163 copy

Frizz Ease Forever Smooth Anti-Frizz Primer (RRP £9.99)

So this month you got the choice of a full-sized John Frieda product in the box, but unfortunately I didn’t see this in time to actually make a choice as I’m rubbish at checking my emails. It was this stuff or a 7 day volume thing. Either would have been fine with me to be honest, but in this household we’re always looking for things to tame hair so was happy with this. That was, until I used it. I should rephrase that: all of my family have used it. And it does fuck all. (Please pardon my language). I don’t actually know what this stuff is even supposed to be. You use it exactly the same way as the ordinary Frizz Ease stuff, and it supposedly gives “immediate frizz elimination” and “sets the foundation for long-lasting, smooth, uniform style”. Yeah, no.
I will note here that Elliot and I have both not gotten on with Frizz Ease as it is. I just think that these products aren’t very effective, and are way overpriced. We started using the Aussie 3 Miracle Oil a little while back, and let me tell you, it is the way. to. go. Especially as they’re the same price. So yeah, a product fail for me here.

IMG_1164 copy

Caudalié Micellar Cleansing Water (RRP £4 – for this size; bigger sizes available)

From a product fail to a shining star from this box. If you have been reading my blog for the past few months of its existence, then you may know that I am relatively new to micellar water in general as I only started using it back in April. Since that review, I’m still on the micellar water bandwagon, and I’ve been using my Garnier stuff everyday. I still recommend it to people, and actually encouraged my sister to buy it the other day, too.
Enter Caudalié. I love this stuff. Now you may be thinking, “how is it different? They’re still practically just water?” –  a fair assessment, however, this seems to have properties that the Garnier stuff does not. First up, it smells beautiful and fresh. Now this may be a negative to a lot of people as you might think it’s less natural if it’s scented, and I don’t deny that. But there is something nice about cleansing yourself and having the scent of watermelon and mint… it just kinda makes you feel… relaxed? Secondly – and this is just personal assessment – but this makes my skin feel toned as well as cleansed. I have problems with big pores that I am becoming more aware of as I age, and they seem better since I’ve been using this stuff. That might just be me, and of course there are numerous other factors that could play into that, but either way, this product I have latched on to. It is pricey, but with my skin being as rubbish as it is, when I see results I want to continue getting them.

IMG_1165 copy

Nails Inc Nail Polish in Old Park Lane (RRP £15; approx £4.30 for this size)

Warning: this colour is no longer Old Park Lane. This is. I received a Nails Inc polish with my GlossyBox before and spoke there about their rebrand, hence the confusion in name changes and price points. Anyway.
This colour is deceiving. In the bottle it looks a gold-bronze, but on your nails it has a metallic pink look. I’m loathe to say rose gold, as I don’t think the colour is as warm as that. I don’t know if there’s such a colour as silver rose, but that’s what I’d call it. I don’t have any pics of it on my nails as my nails are currently hideous so have a look at some other peoples’. Obviously it’s not the new coral shade, but the one 4-5 images in.
I was surprised by this polish, as metallic polishes are usually really thin and need several coats, but this one I only needed to use one coat of. This means I can’t really describe the wear to you, as on me it started chipping off in a day, but like I say, I only used one coat with no base or top. Either way, I think it’s a really gorgeous colour, and I’m a little bit disappointed that I can’t actually share that with you guys because of their rebrand. Going from their website, I would say King’s Road looks similar but lighter, but given that that isn’t the product I actually used, I can’t vouch for that. Sorry. Mayfair Market looks like a true rose gold if that’s what you would go for!

IMG_1166 copy

Elemis Hydra-Boost Day Cream (RRP £39 full size, approx. £11.70 for this size)

I don’t have much to say here as I don’t have any overwhelming feelings about Elemis. I know lots of people adore them, and I have been to a couple of spas where these are the products that were used, but I’m just kinda meh about them. Do I think this is a decent moisturiser? Yeah. Do I think it’s a great moisturiser? I dunno.
I’ve used Elemis products in the past actually, including their raved-about marine cream, and felt exactly the same way. They’re fine. They smell nice. I don’t find them particularly hydrating, but I wouldn’t say they dry my skin out either. I dunno, maybe that makes it a great moisturiser. Maybe the fact that it just goes on my face fine is what’s good. But I don’t have a huge deal to report on it. Am I weird? Do you guys love it? Let me know.

IMG_1167 copy

LOC x Millie Lip Pencil in Bohemian Rose

So this is the lip pencil designed by Birchbox and Millie Mackintosh which is exclusive to this box (meaning you can’t get it elsewhere). And as the standout product from this box I… am a bit disappointed really.
Sorry guys, but there’s just not much to this. It’s a pretty standard lip pencil, chubby stick, kinda deal in a shade I’m not particularly liking. It’s called Bohemian Rose which makes me think of a tea rose kind of colour like this, but really it’s more of a candy pink in the colour and texture you would choose from a cheap lipstick in your first forays into makeup as a teenager. In fact, I’m pretty sure I had a lipstick just like this from one of those big makeup sets from Argos.
I’m sorry Birchbox, I’m sorry Millie Mackintosh, it just feels and looks cheap to me.

 

Total Worth of Products: £29.99*

Never-Ending Summer Overall Impressions:
First up I wanna question something: what about this box suggests “never-ending summer”?  The products in it don’t fit the name at all. If you’re gonna pick a theme, at lease make it work. I didn’t like all the products in the Paradise Found box, but they were certainly to theme.
Overall, I’m pretty disappointed with this box. I thought it would be nice, but out of it I’m getting use out of 2 products, and I’ll probably keep the Elemis stuff as an “in case I run out of my usual moisturiser” deal. But look at that total worth. That’s not impressing me. Especially when you figure that out of that the products I will use value is £8.30, which is less than I paid for this box.

Thumbs down.

Kirsten xo

*price of the products is calculated by the price I can find it for either on the products’ website, or at a popular retailer such as Boots. If I cannot find the item/price, I will use Birchbox’s RRP from the leaflet. The amount calculated is the full price for fullsize products, and calculated down by amount for trial sizes.

Leave a Reply

