So What is a Magnetic Polish?

Good morning, good morning, good morning, and if you’re in the UK, a very happy Spring bank holiday! The weather isn’t looking promising here right now, but whatever you end up doing, I hope you have a lovely, relaxed day ^__^

So, anyone who knows me, knows that I love a bargain. In any shop I go to, I head straight to the sale section. When I go grocery shopping, I always come out with products covered in yellow stickers. I’m a member of several bargain groups on facebook. I also happen to be on O2 as my phone network, and have the O2 Priority app on my phone, which provides lots of different offers and discounts for O2 customers.

So, last week, I opened up the app and encountered what I deemed to be the best offer I had seen on there: 8 nails inc. polishes for £8!

Now, if you haven’t heard or encountered nails inc. before, they are a high-end nail polish company based in the UK. They have some beautiful colours, and I have used them a lot in the past. Having used them, I also knew that their polishes retailed at £11 – £15 a pop, so to get so many at £8 seemed unreal.

The offer is actually a whopping £96 discount (yes, you read that correctly) on their Festival Nails bundle, which have 8 full size, metallic, magnetic polishes in it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 09.00.15

The offer, at the time of writing this, is still available on the O2 app, so if you have it, I recommend getting on it! I will not be sharing the code for the offer here, as I have read about nails inc. cancelling orders for people who have somehow managed to find the code when not O2 customers.

I was intrigued by the concept of a magnetic polish, as I had never tried them before, and wasn’t even exactly sure what they did. But, hey, it’s a great offer and I’m keen to give anything a go!

IMG_1921 copy.jpg

There’s a nice range of shades, and the only thing I would say is that they are all quite dark, which I think is due to the formula that needs to be used to make the magic work. I dunno, though… I’m guessing, really. However, they are much more vivid once applied!

There are magnets in the caps to the polishes, which you hold over the nail when the polish is wet to create the design. Something that is really cool is that the polishes have a few different designs, which seem to be determined by the magnet, so they different colours have different designs. I’m sure the magnets can be switched around though, so you could create different designs with different colours!

The shades you get are:

IMG_1923 copy

houses of parliament, which is a deep mauve-purple with a wave design magnet.

IMG_1924 copy.jpg

spitalfields, which is a metallic grass green, with a fishnet design magnet.

IMG_1925 copy

soho, which is a true pewter shade with a fishnet design cap

IMG_1926 copy

whitehall, which is a deep teal with a wave design cap

IMG_1927 copy

london town, which is a light brown with a wave design cap (reminds me of the Thames on a bad day)

IMG_1928 copy

kensington palace, which is a pink-toned red with a wave design cap

IMG_1929 copy

shaftesbury avenue, which is a dark, witchy green with a star-shaped design in the lid (!)

IMG_1930 copy

piccadilly, which is a dark gold glitter with a fishnet design cap.

Before we get into showing you all my nails, let me make one thing clear: I am terrible with nail polish, okay? My nails are not a massive priority to me. I feel the need to keep them short because a) I’m a mum, b) I do a lot of cooking and baking, and c) to deter me from anxiously biting them. I also have a bit of damage around my cuticles and sides of my fingers as well at the minute, so please try to ignore that too!

IMG_1875IMG_1876

These were the polishes with just one coat of polish on over a clear base coat. I was actually super impressed with how pigmented they were, but given the fact that these polishes work out at £13 per at full price, I guess you’d want them to be!

So, then I moved onto the next scary bit!

You are supposed to paint a thick layer of polish on the nail, and then hold the cap with the magnet directly over it (as close as you can get without touching) for a few seconds. I would say this was the hardest part for me, and I think I did touch down on one of my nails accidentally!

After you’ve done all nails, you finish up with a top coat, and you’re done.

I had…. varying levels of success.

IMG_1883IMG_1884IMG_1885IMG_1886IMG_1887IMG_1889

I would say the wave designs were the ones that worked best, but on some of them the design doesn’t seem to reach the sides of my nails. If I tried it again, I would probably try rolling my nail a little under the magnet, to see if it can reach the curve of my nail from all angles.

The star one on my left thumb also looks really cool, but I would say the fishnet designs weren’t very successful.

Overall, I ‘m really impressed with these nail polishes! I think the design work probably takes a lot of practice, but I’m happy to work on that! Even without the design, these are really, really pretty and pigmented metallic polishes, and so shiny and vibrant once there’s a topcoat on.

I’m definitely not complaining for the price I got them at!

So what do you guys think? I’d love to know if you’ve ever used magnetic polishes and what your experience with them is! Is it something you’d try?

Until next time my loves ❤

kirsten-xo

Leave a Reply

