MAKEUP OF THE DAY 17.05.17

Do you ever have one of those days where it feels like you take hundreds of selfies and not one of them is nice? That was me yesterday.

This has not been a great couple of weeks; let me just say that from the offset. Emmie has had chickenpox and I was hoping I would get it (because I’ve never had it and want to get it over with). I didn’t get chickenpox, but I did get a period of my anxiety going through the roof, which made me chew my nails, which gave me a nasty infected finger. Then my period came along, and for me that is basically 6 days of continuous pain. Our boiler has also been broken for over a week now. So basically, this combination of things =  in pain, stuck in the house, unwashed, bad mental health, looking after a poorly child. I’ve been wearing pajamas every day, hair in an unwashed, unbrushed topknot, my house is going to shit, and everything else other than trying to look after myself and my daughter has gone to the wayside.

Why am I telling you all this? Because I made a commitment to myself that if I started up this blog again, I would be honest. It’s easy to get caught up in pictures of pretty clothes and makeup, and that’s not always the reality.
I’m a stay at home Mum, and right now the reality is pretty shit. So it goes.

So, after a period of feeling stuck in a rut, I was feeling very, very bored and decided that my makeup needed to come out to play. It took ages, but obviously, being in a state where I just didn’t feel good anyway, I didn’t like how it turned out. But I am not letting it go to waste by not posting it here. So, here we go.

IMG_1235 copy

FacetuneIMG_1240 copy

I’d be embarrassed to show you how many pictures are actually on my phone from trying to capture a decent picture of my makeup. I think the problem was that, a) I didn’t feel good in the first place, and b) I don’t like my eyes tightlined. I never wear eyeliner on my waterline because my eyes are small anyway, and I think it makes mine look smaller. Lots of clever people counteract this by wearing false eyelashes, which is also something I don’t do, and that this look maybe lacked.

Or maybe I’m just feeling overly self-conscious because of everything else going on right now.

For my eyes in this look I mainly used an old Makeup Revolution palette, and a couple of shades from UD’s Shadowbox* and XX Reloaded. My eyeliner is Rodial applied with the ABH 15 brush. Lips are Clinique Chubby Stick, brows are ABH as always, and foundation KVD.

*It was the older shadowbox palette than this, but this one has the shades I used.

Just a final note I want to make as an update to another previous post: in this post here you will have seen my reservations about the Yes To Cucumbers micellar water. Well, I have been using this stuff for a little while now, and it is actually working out great! I haven’t had any problems with my skin (not more so than the acne and dryness I already have) like I did with the mask where it was stinging, and I’m super impressed by how well it works at removing makeup, in particular. I still think the Garnier and Caudalié ones are great, but I have to say, they don’t remove my waterproof makeup very well, and this one really does. Not only that, but it is cruelty-free (unlike the others), and so I think I will be switching to this one indefinitely. I’m delightfully surprised!

IMG_1322 copy

I feel like this picture needs to be on one of those girls deceiving men with makeup posts or whatever. This is straight outta horror movie.

I hope to be back with you again soon, hopefully with a cheerier post. I’m sorry this wasn’t that, but hey, life sucks sometimes. At least there’s makeup.

kirsten-xo

2 comments

Leave a Reply

