MOTD 03.05.2017 & Marzia x Winky Lux Review

I literally have to leave to go and collect my daughter from nursery in 14 minutes, so this is going to be a “how quickly can I bang out a blog post?” post. I apologise in advance if it also reads that way! Nah, who am I kidding? It is what it is.

If you haven’t seen THIS post here, you won’t have seen that I recently received my Marzia floral box, and as such one of Marzia Bisognin’s collab shadows with Winky Lux in the shade “Sole”. Well, that’s what I’ll be focusing on today πŸ˜‰

IMG_0697 copyIMG_0698 copyIMG_0699 copy

This shadow is one of several designed for the collab, and the full collection can be purchased together as a palette (the link for which you’ll find in this blog post).

Sole is a yellow-gold shade, and perfect for Summer. It’s shimmery, but there’s no loose glitter to worry about fallout with (unlike I find with shimmer Urban Decay shades).
When I swatched it on my hand the other day, the texture was super soft and blendable, and the colour was pretty pigmented.

IMG_0700 copyIMG_0702

This still rings true upon application, but it does struggle with a brush.

IMG_0743 copy

Here it is on me without any other eye makeup, just so you can get a sense of the true shade. This was after I had given up trying with a brush a couple of times, and used my finger. Don’t get me wrong, it willΒ apply with a brush; it just doesn’t give the colour-payoff I was looking for πŸ™‚

IMG_0755 copy

And here’s my final face. Ya know. My boss level face.

IMG_0769 copy

(Sorry about this blurry photo I can’t take pictures for toffee even with an iPhone7 it seems)

It’s a really nice shadow. I’m pretty impressed with it, and I’ll probably get a fair amount of use out of it during the summer because I do like gold shades like this.

It’s really soft and blendable, with a decent pigmentation, but you may need to get your fingers in there or a stiffer bristled brush if you really want it to pop.

IMG_0765 copy

By the way, do you ever just wander around your house looking for the perfect selfie lighting to show how poppin your highlighter is? Surely it’s not just me? I mean, look at it in this one.Β Damn.

I’m gonna give you guys a little before and after of my face as well. My face isΒ super sore at the minute to the point where I’ve been deliberating making a doctor’s appointment. Nothing seems to be clearing this acne T___T
I mean, you could tell me to stop wearing makeup. That’s probably a suitable suggestion for trying to clear your face. But let’s be real: I have major confidence issues, anxiety, depression… and the last thing I probably need is to be leaving my house looking like this:

IMG_0734.jpg

IMG_0774 copy

Much better.

These shadows are retailing at $9/approx. Β£6.97 which is pretty good, and the palette saves you more as that’s retailing for $25. Not bad.

So, what are your thoughts on this collab? Have you tried any other Marzia or Winky Lux products? This is my first so I’m interested to know your thoughts!

(And BOOM, I’m done on time! ;))

Kirsten xo

Other makeup honourable mentions on my face:

Kat Von D Lock It FoundationKat Von D Lock It Foundation
Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow Pomade (Medium Brown)
Lime Crime Velvetines (Squash)
Model Co Contour Stick
Makeup Revolution Vivid Brights Highlighter (now unavailable)

9 comments

  1. First things first you are literally the only person who I have truly enjoyed the yellow eyeshadow look on! Also, that lip color coordinates SO well with the rest of this makeup. Also, your brows are amazing; what have you been using?!!! Plus your skin looks amazing girl, don’t sweat it. Lately I found that less is more when it comes to my skincare routine and clearing up my skin.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

