CutiePieMarzia Floral Box – Spring 2017

So let’s kick off getting back into the blogging swing of things with a good old subscription box!

This is the CutiePieMarzia subscription box by YouTuber/Author/Designer Marzia Bisognin and you can get it here! This is the standard subscription, not the VIM. It’s on the expensive side for a subscription, especially for shipping outside the US, but you do get a lot of products for your money. This box is quarterly, and I’ve just received the Spring edition in late April (it seems to arrive with me about a month after shipping from US > UK).

I will note now that I have just cancelled this box, as I just don’t have the revenue to continue getting a more expensive box like this, but I might restart it again in the future because I do enjoy receiving it!
This will be the third box I have received, the previous being the Snow box I didn’t review as I was on my blog break, and I was pretty disappointed with. The upside to that one was that I actually won a competition with Reel Style so I received that box for free. You can read the review of my first one here.

So let’s get right into it.

IMG_0687 copy

The first thing I noticed when receiving this box was that it was much smaller than the others I had received. This makes me happy because it seems that there was a conscious choice to reduce packaging (yay for environment!).

IMG_0688 copy

The box features original designs by Marzia, and they’re pretty cute I guess.

IMG_0689 copy

Alongside less packaging, there was also less annoying filer stuff. None of my products were damaged, so A+ there.

IMG_0690 copy

IMG_0691 copy

Sewing Kit by Marzia

Okay, obviously I can’t put a price on this because it’s just a lil sewing kit. You could probably pick it up for pennies anywhere, really. However, I do think it’s a cute idea, especially with the mirror in it. I’m not sure why you’d need a mirror in a sewing kit, but it’s good that it doubles up a sewing kit and compact… I guess? It is something to pop in the handbag. You never know.

IMG_0692 copy

KENRA Platinum Blow-Dry Spray (no specific RRP but found on Amazon for £24.25)

Haven’t had the opportunity to use this yet, but it promises a lot:
“dramatically reduces blow-dry time up to 50%, provides intense thermal defence up to 428 degreesF, and resists humidity for up to 20 hours. This lightweight formulation detangles, smooths, and increases shine.”

Wow. One can only hope.

The only thing I can tell you then, is that this smells… just… absolutely phenomenal. I haven’t sniffed at something this much since I received a Du Buyere After Sun lotion in a Glossybox last June! In fact, I went and dug that out to compare the scents, and it is definitely very, very similar. So I guess the scent this is meant to be is Monoï. Damn, I need to buy some of that stuff!

IMG_0693 copy

Kate Aspen In Bloom Salt and Pepper Shakers (no RRP found but on Amazon for £8.37)

These are cute. Very small, but I like the design of them. Would probably keep if I didn’t have salt and pepper shakers my heart absolutely belonged to, and thus will probably end up gifting to someone. It was nice to receive a home item in the box, though!

IMG_0695 copy

Yes To Cucumbers Soothing Calming Micellar Water (RRP approx. £3.09)

At first I was excited to see this in the box. I love a good Micellar water, and I was excited by the unusual design of this. It actually has a pump with a flat top, and the idea is you place your cotton pad or ball on top of it, pump a couple of times, and that’s it. I mean, it’s a cute idea, but it seems kinda unnecessary? Unless you’re one of those people who has real concerns of knocking your micellar water over when the cap’s off, that is.

Anyway. I always get excited by Yes To, because it seems like such a cool idea for a brand. I spoke about this a lot when I received a Yes To Cucumbers mask in my first Marzia box.
….And then I remembered. See, that mask promised to be soothing, and in fact, it felt like it was burning my face off. So now I’m not so sure about this product. To give it its due, I haven’t tried it yet, but my skin is very sensitive. I looked it up on Beautypedia to see if they had tried it, and unfortunately, the results of that don’t look too promising either.

Bummer.

If you’re looking for a great Micellar water, you might want to try the Caudalié one I raved about here, or my good old fave, Garnier (though please note: these products do test on animals and I am moving away from them).

IMG_0697 copyIMG_0698 copy

Winky Lux x Marzia Kitten Shadow in Sole (RRP approx. £6.97)

I had a feeling this might be in the box, and I was happy to see it was! Marzia has just done a collab with Winky Lux and released a palette which you can find on there website here. Lots of people were complaining about the colours, but I actually really liked them, and I think the packaging is super pretty.

I can say the same for this one which was included in the box, in the shade Sole. It’s a very yellow-gold colour, and a quick swatch on my hand is very promising! It seems super pigmented and really soft and blendable at the same time.

IMG_0700 copy

This was one swipe of it over my hand with my finger, and the picture was taken in natural daylight.

IMG_0702

And this is is with flash.

I’m looking forward to using this properly.

IMG_0704 copy

Fresh Rose Deep Hydration Face Cream (Full size RRP $40/approx. £30.95; for this size approx. £5.60)

I’d never heard of this brand before, and a cursory glance over their website proves it to look pretty cool. I like the look of the body scrubs in particular. This face cream doesn’t have much to it, with only a teeny tester size of 7ml, but it does feel like that will spread quite far. As suggested by the name, it smells of roses. Not that artificial essential oil smell either, but more fresh, like rosewater. A nice little product to try.

IMG_0705 copy

derma e Purifying Daily Detox Scrub (Full Size RRP $15.50/approx. £12; for this size approx. £1.50)

This was another product I was excited to see in here, as derma e is a company which do products I always love. There was a derma e product in the previous box as well, which I went on to absolutely love, despite being unsure of it when I received it.

Face scrubs are something I’m always happy to receive, as I like trying new ones out to see if I can actually find something that will settle my terrible skin! No luck so far. But hey, I always live in hope.

This company is completely cruelty free, which is a massive plus in my book, and they’ve also had quite an attractive rebrand recently. I recommend checking them out!

IMG_0708IMG_0711 copy

White Wire Headband by Marzia

Another one I can’t really put a price on because I could get something like this from Primark for about a quid. That said, it’s a nice little extra to receive, especially for this girl who’s trying to grow out a stubborn fringe right now!

 

IMG_0706 copy

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer (Full Size £26; for this size approx. £6.15)

I left the best for last! This has received rave reviews most everywhere, and has been dubbed the best primer there is, so I am so excited to finally get to try it!

I can’t say much else right now as I haven’t tested it yet. I did use a tiny bit on my finger, but seeing as this sample is so small and expensive, I’m loathe to waste it. I enjoyed the Paul & Joe primer included in a previous box immensely, so it will be nice to compare!


 

Price I paid for the box inc. shipping: approx. £37.93
Worth of products: approx. £55.93

If you’ve read my previous blog post on the Marzia box, you will note that there is a big dip in the worth of products here. Like, a £20 drop. That’s significant. Some of the products I received in the fall box were lasting things I could continue using (and still do!) such as the pin, pop socket, earrings, necklace… and some of the products have lasted too. I don’t feel like I’m gonna get that from this box, and the ones that are not products which will run out (sewing kit, shakers, headband) are not of the same quality as the stuff received beforehand.

As I said at the beginning of this, I was disappointed by the Snow box too for the same kind of reasons, and this has cemented my decision to cancel, at least for right now. But as also stated, I would consider looking into it again if the quality improved back up to the Fall 2016 box. Because of the way the business runs as well, you pay for the next box around the same time the current box ships, so my last one will actually be the next one, and that will be my last review for these boxes.

Have any of you guys subscribed to this box? What did you think?

Until next time 🙂

Kirsten xo

4 comments

  1. Lovely review! It was nice to compare with the one I received! You got all the nice products, so I think that the ordinary box is just as well worth it, (and probably even better) as the big one). xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

