OCTOBER 2016 GLOSSYBOX REVIEW

So this is coming in a bit late, for which I apologise. The reason why is because I’ve actually lost one of the items which I had in this box and was trying to find it, but it seems to have located to another plane on which it will never be found.

Anyway, I’m just gonna crack on with it.

img_2748-copy

This month’s GlossyBox was a collaboration with Esteé Lalonde. I don’t really have much to say on that front as there’s no special items or anything as there would be with a collaboration with a designer (for example), but she’s got some good product choices in here.

img_2750-copy

When received this was a secret product, however due to my laziness in getting around to this post I can reveal that it is (drumroll)…

Head and Shoulders (RRP approx. £1 for this size)

The good: the smell
The bad: everything else

Okay, I love the idea of a mystery product. The fact that you don’t know what it is and then they email you or you find out via the website later… it’s cute. And I can totally get why they did it for this as it would be the last thing you’d expect to get, ya know, subverting expectations in making it out to be a luxury beauty product and all that.

The problem is, I just didn’t like it. And to be honest, I was more surprised when I found out the brand, as I’ve gotten on with Head and Shoulders in the past.
It smells absolutely gorgeous, but it is really, really thick and I need a couple of uses of it each time to feel like my hair is actually washed. I do have psoriasis on my scalp, which you’d think this brand would help with, but it doesn’t. My head is a fragile landscape, and one which this shampoo just ain’t working with.

img_2751-copy

Bee Good Honey & Camelina Facial Exfoliator (RRP £10.50)

The good: gentle exfoliator, smells amazing, supports British bees, works
The bad: none so far

Now we have my favourite product in this month’s box.

To be honest, I don’t have much to say on it except for what I’ve written for this good points listed above. It smells lovely, the exfoliator is creamy and gentle – no scratchy bits – and it doesn’t make your face feel red raw after use. It’s just a really nice product and I appreciate that we have the full size of it :]

img_2752-copy

Rituals the Ritual of Sakura Body Cream (RRP approx. £6.21 for this size)

No good and bad to be written here as I haven’t used this product yet.

I received the Ritual of Sakura shower foam as a freebie from Sephora as noted in this post, but unfortunately I’m out of that now so won’t have the opportunity to use them together! I did like the shower foam though, so hopefully this will prove nice too.

img_2753-copy

Universal Beauty Secret Flush Cream Blusher and Lip Stain in 004 Nectar (RRP approx. £16.41)

The good: beautiful shade, applies nicely
The bad: probably won’t get much use from me

I actually didn’t realise how expensive this product was until I just looked :O
This is a really nice cream blusher, though. The shade is peachy with a gold duochrome, and it does look nice on both cheeks and lips.

Here’s a couple of unedited photos of it in natural light and direct sunlight.

The only problem with this is the fact that I probably won’t get much use out of it, as I don’t tend to use cream blush. Maybe I should branch out?

img_2757-copy

Trifle Cosmetics Lip Parfait in Exotic Fruits (RRP £12.95)

The good: super cute packaging
The bad: it’s pretty meh…

First off, can we talk about how fricking cute that packaging is?? It’s a cardboard tube, which I’m sure lots of people will hate, but I love because it’s eco friendly.

The lipstick itself is pretty meh. The colour, the application and staying power is no different to a pharmacy lipstick, so tbh I can’t recommend paying this price for it. In fact, I think this company has a cool idea with its quirky and cute packaging on its products, which you can see on the website, but a lot of it has quite a high price point. Staying on the fence here!

As with the blush, here are swatches of the colour. On my hand it looks very peachy, however on my face it looks very light.

img2-thejournal

PS Lip Pen (I think it was like £1)

The last product is the one I couldn’t find and so the image is not my own (credit to The Daily Edge for this image). This also has no website as I think in the UK it retails out of Primark.

The good: being an actual pen like an eyeliner is a cool idea, price point, nice colour
The bad: patchy, not long-lasting as promised

The pen I received is that bottom colour, the really dark plum. I actually only have worn this on one occasion before I lost it (I suspect I left it in my mum’s handbag which I borrowed). It was really interesting and unexpected to have what looked like a felt eyeliner but for your lips, and I quite liked it! The pen made the application around the lips really easy, however it meant it was a bit more difficult and took a while to apply to the rest of the lips. It also went on patchy, but this might be the darker colours?

The only thing was that this wasn’t long lasting. It did last for a few hours, but as soon as I started drinking/eating it was gone. Overall, an okay product for the price, but not one I’d revisit.

 

Total worth of products: £48.07*

Overall thoughts: An okay box. Some hits, some misses. I’m not blown away.

See you in a couple of weeks with November’s box!

Kirsten xo

Leave a Reply

