NYX Sex Bomb Palette Review & Makeup Look

I have a question: is it just the UK who can’t get THE FRIGGIN SONG out of their head when they hear this phrase, or is it other countries too?

I actually like the phrase “sex bomb”. I wish I could use it casually, but all it gives me is images of an old, curly-haired white guy dancing around awkwardly and singing “SEX BOMB SEX BOMB YOU’RE MY SEX BOMB”. I hope we get over this trauma as a nation soon. I say as a nation because I have an inkling it’s not as bad in other countries, seeing as Tom Jones is from Wales so the UK probably has to deal with him a bit more.

Anyway…

Tom Jones-foolery aside (see what I did there?), I’m actually talking about MAKEUP. Well, obviously. This is a beauty/lifestyle/whatever blog. I like makeup. That’s pretty obvs by now. So let’s get on with looking at the NYX Sex Bomb Femme Fatale palette.

IMG_1917 copy

I was given this palette by my lovely, lovely friend Lucy alongside some other beauty goodies, which all came in a glittery perspex makeup bag with a Unicorn on it! ❤

I was excited by this palette because NYX recently arrived at Boots in the UK, and whilst everyone else has been rushing to buy up everything, I have thus far managed to resist. I actually only own one NYX cosmetics item, my colour correcting palette I bought from NYX in Barcelona, but it is amazing. I also see people fawning over their liquid lipsticks, but I haven’t seen anything on their eyeshadows, so I was very happy that I get to give them a go!

IMG_1913 copy

The palette itself is quite compact. I have really tiny hands and can hold it comfortably between my fingers, so you know it’s one of those things that’s handy to be able to pop in your handbag and take it where you need it.

That fact is especially helpful because of the shades within the palette. As you can see, it is mainly neutrals, with a couple of glittery shades, and only one colour which is a dark raspberry pink… almost red, which I think it a nice little “on the go” range.

IMG_1775 copy

The palette comes with dual-ended sponge-tip applicator, which I will get no use out of.

When swatching, I was pleasantly surprised by this palette. The shadows feel very soft and not chalky, and the pigmentation of the red and black shades are far, far better than expected.

IMG_1919

[I was only able to take a photo in artificial light due to the time of day]

As you can see, the colour payoff in the glittery shades isn’t fantastic, but the champagne-coloured glittery shade does give a super nice sparkle and would nice to layer on top of base colours. The two matte neutral shades doesn’t show up very well, but I found that they were easily buildable with the right brushes.

I decided that I wanted to get use out of all of the shades in this palette with the first look I created, so I just went for it.

IMG_1804 copy

Full disclosure: I couldn’t get the depth in my crease that I wanted from the Taupe shadow in the palette, so I’m also using a bit of ‘Suspend’ from the Vice XX palette.

The shadows worked really, really well. They blended nicely, and there wasn’t a huge deal of fallout. Like I said above, the glittery shades don’t give fantastic colour payoff, however I have used the champagne shade on my inner corners instead, and a little bit for browbone highlight. The red shade applies more like a pink when actually placed on, and the colour wasn’t as intense as when I swatched it, but I still really liked it. I think to get the best colour payoff from this shade, you’d be better applying over concealer or cream shadow with a flat packed applicator brush.

IMG_1797 copy

On this day I also experimented with using the tape trick at the sides of my eyes to give that sharp line alongside my winged liner. It works, but to be honest, I’m not totally convinced by whether it actually looks good on me.

IMG_1810 copy

But the one thing this palette certainly did for me was live up to its name: I definitely felt like a femme fatale with this smoky makeup on, and I think that pop of raspberry pink alongside the other smoky neutral shades is not something I would have gone for myself had it not been in this palette.

On another note, I feel like my blending skills are getting better. They’re still not the best, but I feel like my new Spectrum brushes have definitely helped, as well as the old adage “practise makes perfect”.

 

All in all, I have more pros than cons about this palette. The colour payoff isn’t there for some shades, and you do need a good base to get the most pigmentation. However, the shadows are creamy, workable, have little fallout, and is a nice handbag sized product for a complete look, where you can just use the neutral shades for everyday looks, or add a pop of colour when you want something a bit different. That is definitely very good for a non-high-end, affordable product.

IMG_1793 copy

Do any of you have a love of Nyx products? What are your go-tos?

Kirsten xo

 

Products:

Max Factor Facefinity Primer | Revlon Colorstay Concealer [Fair] | Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation [Light Vanilla] | Barry M Get up & Glow Palette  | Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade [Medium Brown] | Billion Dollar Brows Duo Brow Pencil | L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper [Dark] | Urban Decay XX Vice Ltd Reloaded [Suspend] | NYX Sex Bomb Femme Fatale palette | Maybelline Master Precise Liner [Black] | Icona Milano Waterproof Mascara | Lord & Berry Ultimate Lipliner [Vintage Rose] | L’Oreal Infallible Lipstick [Timeless Rose]

Leave a Reply

