Pink & Green: A Makeup Look

Sometimes I get a bit carried away.

Sometimes I look down at my makeup, or an eyeshadow palette and pick up a brush before I even know what I’m doing.

Sometimes this is good. Sometimes this is bad.

And sometimes I end up with something that’s just obscure and I don’t know what to call it. This is one of those.

IMG_1688 copy.jpg

Last week I received my Urban Decay XX Vice Ltd Reloaded palette, which you may have seen in this post. But when it came to doing my first look with it, I didn’t go for the neutrals in it, but dived head in with the colours which I thought were the prettiest.

IMG_1696 copy

I knew I wanted to use ‘Acid Rain’ in particular, as it’s one of my favourite colours in this palette, but I also got pretty caught up staring at ‘Hot Pants’ and after questioning for a bit whether I could do a pink and green look, thought “fuck it” and did it anyway.

I worked ‘Hot Pants’ and another pink colour from a MUR palette into my crease, and used ‘Acid Rain’ with a touch of ‘Mildew’ at the outer corners of my lid, then more ‘Acid Rain’ and ‘Mildew’ under my lower lash line. The colours look very muted, but I realised after I had done this that I completely forgot to put my Primer Potion on, which would have helped!

IMG_1694 copy

I also went a bit adventurous and ended up doing massive winged liner, which I actually did with MUR Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer in You Took My Love. I haven’t done a brilliant job of this, but I think that comes from most of my winged liner practice being with felt tip liners as opposed to using gels with angled brushes.

IMG_1693 copy

On this day I was going to my stepmum’s house and thought I must have looked totally crazy, but my 11 year old sister was completely obsessed and couldn’t believe you could do a liner with lipstick!

Obviously this is not an everyday look for me, but one that is completely borne of experimentation. I really do like combining different products and colours to see what works well on me, as I’ve learned in the past that you can’t learn everything from YouTube!

Here’s the rundown of my products:

Max Factor Facefinity Primer | Revlon Colorstay Concealer [Fair] | Kat Von D Lock-It Foundation [42 Light] | Barry M Get up & Glow Palette  | Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade [Medium Brown] | Makeup Revolution Parental Advisory Palette | Urban Decay XX Vice Ltd Reloaded | Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lacquer [You Took My Love] | Icona Milano Waterproof Mascara | The Balm Stainiac Lip and Cheek TintMax Factor Colour Elixir Lipgloss (Glossy Toffee)

IMG_1699 copy

Good, or bit not good?

Kirsten xo

Leave a Reply

