Urban Decay XX Vice Ltd Reloaded Palette Review

Hello peeps!

Today I have something veeerrrry exciting to share with you: the new Urban Decay XX Vice Ltd Reloaded palette! Now before this goes any further, I just want to point out that I am in no way affiliated with Urban Decay. This was a palette I got as a present for my birthday and all opinions expressed here and completely my own.

When my Mum asked me what I wanted for my birthday this year, I knew I was going to choose makeup, and specifically a palette. I had a few in mind that I was looking for, the others of which you can see in my Birthday Wishlist post. I deliberately left this one out of that post because I knew I was getting it, so here it is:

IMG_1660 copy

This is how the palette comes packaged. The palette is in a beautiful graphic printed box in the usual black and purple Urban Decay colours, and as you can see, the shape and size is the same as the other Vice palettes which have come before it.

IMG_1661 copy

The palette itself out of the box is stunning. It is a black matte case, with a textured jewelled “UD”, and literally the only slight problem that I have with the design is that fingerprints show up very easily on the black matte.

IMG_1662 copy

From this angle you can see how the jewelled logo sticks out, and also the button as was used in the original Vice palettes. This I find to be a really nice touch, as when you press it the palette opens on a spring, so there’s no faffing about.

The whole point of this palette was to celebrate 20 years of Urban Decay (hence the roman numerals “XX”), and so within the palette we have colours which throwback several years in Urban Decay’s history, some of which appear to be using a different, better formula.

IMG_1663 copy

As with the other Vice palettes, there is a good array of colours in both matte and shimmers. The reason I was so attracted to this palette was because there are so many nice colours to play about with, but also some matte neutrals such as Anonymous, Laced, and Suspend which are good go-to, everyday colours.

IMG_1665 copy

There is also a massive mirror which you can see fits the entire width and length of the palette lid. The resting position of the palette once opened and sitting flat puts the mirror in a perfect position to be able to look at when doing makeup. I particularly like this as it can be good for those who don’t have room for a full vanity table and mirror, or if you are staying elsewhere and don’t fancy doing your makeup to a tiny handheld.

IMG_1677 copy

The palette also comes with a double ended brush. It’s metal and quite weighty, and appears to be good quality. The blending side of the brush isn’t quite fluffy enough in my opinion so I don’t rate it as highly as the ones I currently use, however it would be good in a pinch, or if you didn’t have space to carry a lot of different brushes. The other end is a well-packed application brush, and I would say that that one rates a little higher in terms of performance.

I’ve swatched all the colours for you below to give you an idea of what they’re like, both in sunlight, and in indoor natural light.

IMG_1670

IMG_1672

Suspend is a lovely neutral taupe-brown matte colour. The mattes in this palette are incredibly high quality and so smooth without feeling chalky in any way. Suspend is one of my new go-tos for deepening my crease in neutral looks.

Oil Slick is a charcoal black colour with silver glitter. I haven’t used this one yet, but the pigmentation doesn’t seem to be super, though I have an idea that this will make a good outer eye colour for a night out.

Roadstripe is one I have seen raved about by other bloggers and vloggers, and with good reason. Unfortunately my pictures don’t quite show how stunning it is. In the pan it just looks white, but it actually applies as a kind of blueish-purple duochrome.

Gash is another one people seem to love. It’s a deep rusty brick shade with a slight shimmer, and the pigmentation is great.

Midnight Cowboy is an old popular one for UD, but a first timer to me. It’s a light peachy golden colour with glitter. I love this colour as it’s very me, but unfortunately the only time I used this there was a lot of fallout from the glitter.

501 is another one that probably doesn’t show up fantastically in the photos, and one of the ones I was super excited for in this palette. It is a highly pigmented deep blue colour with iridescent glitter through it. Probably a bit impractical but I’m determined to find a use for this one!

Shallow is a light silver shimmer. I don’t really have much to say about this one but a nice colour to have in your arsenal!

Laced is a matte like Suspend, and has become my favourite transition colour. One I will continue to reach for.

IMG_1673IMG_1674

Hot Pants is a super shimmery bubble gum pink that reminds me so much of the 90s and girl power and fruity lipglosses. So cute.

Mildew is a moss green shimmer. I think this will be a big dividing colour that people will either love or hate, and I’m in camp “love it”.

Smog is an old UD favourite. This is my second Smog pan, the first coming from the Shadow Box. Smog is a super shimmery dark bronze-brown, and is lovely in shimmery neutral looks.

Misdemeanor (apologies for the misspelling I have just noticed in the pics) is the only shadow I was truly disappointed with in this palette. In the pan it looks teal, which I was so excited about as one of my favourite colours. When you swatch it on your finger it has hints of a light green duochrome to it, which I think comes from the glitter, but as you can see on my arm the colour payoff is just not there. It looks more like an unpigmented dark grey.

Freakshow is a nice dark plum shimmer. It is very similar to UD’s other colour Tornado.

Asphyxia is another favourite. a light pinky-purple duochrome which looks nice blended out or on its own as a statement, however the colour payoff isn’t fantastic. It works best on top of a heavy dose of primer, concealer or a paint pot.

Acid Rain was one of the colours I was so very excited about the minute I laid eyes on this palette. It’s a super light green-yellow colour which makes me think of radioactiveness… if that makes sense. A really cool statement shimmer colour.

Moonflower is a light, shimmery copper colour. I’ve used this one as my main lid colour in a neutral cut crease, for which it worked perfectly.

IMG_1675IMG_1676

UV-B is a colour which just makes me think of Urban Decay as a brand wholly. It’s a purple-blue duochrome, and I can just imagine using this as the centre lid colour with a purple halo eyes, possibly with Roadstripe on top to make it pop.

Goldmine is a true vibrant yellow gold. It has for more yellow is in than other gold eyeshadows I’ve had, and I think it works really well as an inner eye colour as well as a statement.

Twice Baked is one of the older more familiar colours to long-time fans of UD. It’s a really deep chocolate brown shimmer, which as I said with Smog, is great for deepening the crease and using as an outer eye colour.

Anonymous is another matte, and is perfect for my skintone as a base shade colour for applying all over the eyelid before blending and colour application.

 

Overall, I am loving this palette so far. There are a couple of shades I’m not over the moon with, and won’t get much use from, but I think that’s fair to say of most palettes.
Most of the colours work very well and are nicely pigmented, and I love how there’s so many options for both colourful and neutral looks.

I look forward to playing with it some more!

Kirsten xo

4 comments

  1. Awesome review. Lovely to see the swatches. It’s a beautiful looking palette but doesn’t really do it for me in terms of the colour selection.

    I know it’s a “best of” but I feel like many of those shades belong in a naked palette. Not a vice one. (Am I being too picky?!) xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I dunno I thought the range was pretty good! It’s probably gonna be one of those things where because it’s not a palette with all complimentary colours (as with most) you have to like the colours individually and be able to work them with other shades you have instead of trying to meld them together (maybe). I luckily like most of them here xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

