My Birthday Wishlist

My birthday is now just 5 days away now! As I grow older I encounter the same thing that I think a lot of people do: I care less and less about my birthday.

It’s not that I don’t like my birthday. I love my birthday. I’m not someone who is actually that phased at getting older: in fact, I welcome it. Every year I learn more and more, and try my best to educate myself on cultural issues, and generally just grow as a person. My birthday, to me, is a chance to celebrate that fact. It’s also (cw) an opportunity for reflection of all those times I thought that I wouldn’t make it another year.

But for the past few years, I have been too preoccupied to give it much thought. I had a young child, and I was working on my birthdays as well (I shouldn’t have, I won’t in the future, and I don’t really recommend that anyone else does: book it off).
I was also in Scotland, where although surrounded by family, I had very few friends. This meant that my birthday was generally an afterthought for Elliot and I, and we would just spend it together having a nice meal or something.

This year, I’m back down in England, and the most important aspect of this is that I share my birthday with my sister. We weren’t born in the same year, but on the same date, so we consider ourselves to be like twins 5 years apart! So we’re gonna do something together. No plans set in stone yet, but as I said, as I get older I seem to care less about that part. I’d be happy just going for a lovely lunch and then maybe for some drinks with friends, or even just Ell, in the evening.

My ambivalence toward my birthday generally also factors into presents. When we are younger we will see things we want and beg and beg and beg our parents for it. As we get older, presents seem to be less of a big deal, and something that you’re incredibly thankful to get.
This makes it extremely difficult when it comes to being asked what I want, usually by my parents. You’re far more likely to get money or vouchers for your birthday when you get older, and that’s usually fine by me. But with the startup of this blog, I encounter things that I covet far more, and they’re usually makeup and skincare (of course).

I still don’t have a list of a million items I’d like to receive, but this year I have managed to compile a list of things I generally have taken a shine to. Obviously I don’t expect to get anything, from my parents or Ell, but this is more of a list of things I like at the minute. More of a dream birthday wishlist, if you will.

Makeup

Of course there’s bound to be some makeup on my birthday wishlist. I have actually received a sneaky couple of presents already which fall under this category, but you’re going to have to sit tight for another blog post to see what those are (or, alternatively, you could follow me on my other social media feeds or on Snapchat @kirakirst)!

3605971071492_gwenstefani_alt2

Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Collection Palette

I’ve had my eye on this one for a little while now. I love it because the palette itself has a beautiful gold design, and the shadows in it are circular, which makes me feel like you get a bit more bang for your buck than their usual rectangle design (à la Naked).
It has a good mix of matte and shimmery neutrals, and then some amazing sparkly shades for when you really want to jazz it up. My favourites in this palette are those two sparkly peach colours in particular: Baby and Pop.

ClKy3W8VYAEJUfz

Too Faced Sketch Markers Eyeliners

As soon as I saw these, I knew I wanted them. I absolutely adore how they look like felt tips you would use to colour in as a kid. I’m a real fan of felt tip eyeliners, and I think they are a really easy way to do winged liner, and get a sharp line above the lashline.
These are just the most incredible daydreamy rainbow colours, and I want ALL of them. My heart really tells me to go with the mustard yellow – I’m attracted to all things mustard yellow – but in reality I don’t know how well that would show up. In any case, I am obsessed with these liners.

modern-renaissance-eye-shadoe-palette copy

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

A palette with cult beauty status, and one I am totally buying into the hype of. This palette is so beautiful and has so many beautiful colours in it I am drawn to. I love the rusty orange colours like Raw Sienna, Burnt Orange, Red Ochre and Realgar, and just want to dive into Venetian Red and Love Letter.
This would have been the palette I asked my Mum to buy me, but unfortunately there are only a couple of online sites that sell it for the UK, and both are currently on Waitlists for this item.

Lonely Planet Co Liquid Lipsticks in Donna and Nolita

I mean, just look at them.
I haven’t tried any of the items from this small Etsy-based company, but they have fantastic reviews and their lipglosses and lipsticks have a real 70s disco vibe, and are all so shimmery and sparkly. The beauty world seems to be moving out of a matte block colour phase and back into the world of metallics, and I am all here for it.

web_semisweet_open

Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

I do have a slight obsession with eyeshadow at the minute. I’ve looked at Too Faced palettes before but never bought one, but they are all so cute. They all have really quirky designs, but of course everyone raves about the chocolate bar palettes, as the shadows are made with cocoa powder and smell like chocolate… I mean, who wouldn’t want that???
I prefer the colours of the Semi-Sweet palette over the normal Chocolate Bar palette, which is probably fitting because I do prefer milk chocolate over dark.

Makeup (1).jpg

41JVu9pyOgL

The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalising Facial Oil

You’ve probably heard me drag on about this one before, as I received a sample of it before I went on holiday, and it was a lifesaver for my skin. It is just a really luxurious facial oil that smells amazing, and doesn’t make your skin feel greasy. I wasn’t sure if a facial oil would suit me, even though I have really dry skin, as I get a lot of breakouts. I don’t feel like it worsened my spots in any way, but actually made my skin feel so much better and less sore.
The best way I’ve found to use this is to apply it directly to your clean face when it’s still warm after getting out the bath or shower. You can also mix it in with moisturiser if preferred, but I don’t think it mixes with mine very well so I prefer to use it on its own.

227

Lush Fresh Farmacy Cleanser

Warning: I’ve got quite a few Lush products on this list!
This is a cleanser I’ve been wanting to try for a while. I still don’t have my skincare routine down, and lately my skin just feels like it’s been getting worse and worse, but I don’t know if there’s a specific product causing the problem or whether it’s just environment! For this reason I want to start transitioning into using all-natural skincare, and Lush are obviously the experts in that. They’re also vegan and cruelty free which is obviously perfect for me.

02159

Lush Sakura Bath Bomb

It’s been a while since I’ve had a bath bomb from Lush, as I usually prefer their bubble bars, which I find to be more softening on my skin, and also… bubbles.
I saw some people that were disappointed in this product because it doesn’t make the water change at all and I’m just like???? I mean, I guess that’s what a lot of people buy bath bombs for, and I’m just the odd one out who buys them for their purpose, which I find is similar to bath salts in that they can be really relaxing and fragrant. This one may not change the water, but it is a very pretty one to look at before going in the water, and seems to have a lot of soothing ingredients to make for a nice, calm bath. And I’m all about that.

CupcakeMask_2

Lush Cupcake Fresh Face Mask [image credit here, as I couldn’t find a decent pic from the site]

As you know, I’m all about face masks, especially mud one. This is a mud face mask, and it includes chocolate and mint?! It’s like putting an After Eight on your face… why wouldn’t I want it??

hfg039

Arran Aromatics Bergamot and Ginger Shower Gel

I already spoke about how amazing this shower gel is in this post, so it’s going on the list as I’d really like some more of it. I’ll probably just end up buying this by myself to be honest, especially considering that it’s currently on offer!

web_yuzu_bubbleroon

Lush Yuzu and Cocoa Bubble Bar

As I spoke about above, I adore Lush’s bubble bars. My old favourite used to be Creamy Candy as I’m a sucker for sweet scents, but I tried this one after my last Lush shop and it’s become my new favourite. I can’t even describe how beautiful this is. It smells beautiful even before you put it in your bath – leave it on the side in the bathroom and your whole bathroom will smell wonderful. I’m not sure how to describe it’s scent; it’s kinda tropical and chocolatey at the same time. I also found this really, really moisturising on my skin.

Makeup (3)

Only a few items on here – shocking, I know!

688743_alt1

River Island Plus Lace Back Top

I always end up picking patterns and bright colours when it comes to clothes, and barely end up wearing them. I’m a jumper and jeans/leggings kinda girl, I just am. And I’m trying to buy more black items I can wear on multiple occasions without being boring or completely compromising beauty for comfort.
I don’t know how this plus size model is going braless with this, but I’ve got a couple of pretty bras I wouldn’t mind showing off through this.

Cp5GHypWAAAgW03

ASOS Wrap Cami Top in Velvet

You know how I said I’m a sucker for mustard yellow? I’m also a sucker for velvet and velour. This top is just one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. I don’t even know how it would look on a body like mine, as obviously I’m fat and have huge boobs, but I’m willing to give it a go! Props to Grace Victory for this find via Twitter!

689820_rollover

River Island Plus Bardot Top

Okay, so it may be an obsession. You can tell why I love this. But I have also been wanting a bardot top for a while, too.

image1xxl

ASOS Clip Front BackPack

I really need a backpack. I am rubbish with handbags and hate taking them anywhere, so you’ll very rarely see me with one. I love that backpacks – especially grown up backpacks on women – have become something we can wear as a smart item now without being frowned upon. This one from ASOS is just everything I’d want. Neutral, smart, classic.

Makeup (4)

51Pfe-r-JbL._SX335_BO1,204,203,200_

Q&A a Day Five Year Journal

I’m rubbish with journals. Something happened in my past that caused me to loathe them, but I do wish that I had somewhere I could stash memories and tidbits of information about myself that I can look back on in the future. What I love about this one is you only have to write very little, and you don’t have to think much about it. The book asks you a question and you answer it, possible differently, each year over five years.

61Fkk+4ibzL._SL1500_

Spaire Makeup Mirror

There’s not much behind this one. I just really need a vanity mirror. I live in a small house where I don’t have room for a whole vanity table to myself, so my makeup gets done sitting on my bed or at my desk, but I just moved my desk to a less than desirable lighting position. This one has a built in LED ring light which would make doing my makeup so much easier.

81HfFENxDSL._SL1500_.png

Fineway Acrylic Makeup Display

Everyone seems to love clear acrylic makeup storage at the minute, and I totally get why. My makeup is currently stored in a really nice big black leather makeup case, but as my collection grows, it’s outgrowing the case. These drawers are bigger than a lot of the ones I’ve seen, and would be good for storing larger items in the bottom like palettes.

91J4beN4sEL._SL1500_

Nikon Coolpix L340 Camera

Again, this is one I’ll probably end up buying for myself at a later date.
I don’t currently own a digital camera. All of my photos are taken on my iPhone. But I’d love to be able to have a better camera not only to take better photos of my family, but to use for pics on this lil blog right here.

And that’s it!

I could’ve gone on about a bunch of furniture and homeware stuff I want, cos that’s the stuff I’m really attracted to, but it’s been drilled into me by numerous members of family that I’m not allowed to ask for sensible homeware stuff for my birthday… ugh.

In any case, despite everything listed above, there’s only one thing I really want for my birthday, and that’s to be surrounded by the people that I love. I know it’s cheesy, but it’s true ❤

Any of you have the stuff above and can give feedback on it? What would you wish for?

Kirsten xo

4 comments

Leave a Reply

