June GlossyBox Review

Are you tired of these beauty subscription reviews yet?

Lol. This will be my 4th in the last week I think, but I promise you it’s a good ‘un. And after this one you won’t be hearing from me on this subject again for about a month :]

Today we are going to be looking at my June Glossy review, which I received literally as I was writing up my previous Birchbox review. For the uninitiated, GlossyBox is a beauty subscription box which costs £10 a month + P&P and includes 5 either trial or fullsize products, and sometimes even has a bonus product thrown in. Always worth it as the cost of the products exceeds the cost of the box, so you end up paying £2 per product, often for items which are £10+!

This is the 3rd box I have received from Glossy, including the free one I got for signing up, and it is my favourite so far.

IMG_0382 copy

Lookeeee! Literally packed with goodies!

IMG_0383 copy

Ladival Sun Protection Spray SPF 15 (RRP £13.50)

This came at a fantastic time for us, as we go on holiday on Saturday. Unfortunately 15 is far too low an SPF for myself and my 3 year old daughter’s pale Scottish skin, however it will be perfect for my biracial husband.
Ladival are a brand I had not heard of before, however the packaging looks relatively fancy (I’m sorry, this book is getting judged a little by its cover) and it claims to protect against 4 types of standard sun rays as opposed to the standard 2 (who knew?). The reviews on the Boots website are very mixed, with some claiming it is awful and some claiming fantastic, so we’ll be taking it on holiday with us and I’ll let the condition of my husband when we come back speak for itself! haha

IMG_0385 copy

Emité Makeup Lip and Cheek Tint (RRP £12.50)

The second lip and cheek tint I have received this week from a beauty subscription, this time by Swedish company Emité. This is a decent sized product and the tube is gorgeous. I’ll be using both this one and Stainiac this summer, as a lip tint is perfect for applying for a bit of colour underneath an SPF lip balm to keep lips protected.
This shade is a bit deeper than Stainiac, more of a deep raspberry. The colour applies thinly as with most cheek and lip tints, however is buildable.

IMG_0387 copy

Spa to You Konjac Sponge (RRP £7.99)

Well, this is a new one. Konjac sponges are cleansing sponges made from the porous Konjac root, which I had never even heard of. According to the Glossy leaflet, “More gentle than a scrub but with skin-buffing capabilities, this rubbery textured sponge leaves skin clean and unbelievably soft”.
I’m interested to use this as it seems incredibly environment friendly, and it is intriguing to me that this can be gathered from a root rather than harvesting from our coral reefs, or creating non-biodegradable synthetic sponges.

IMG_0388 copy

Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream (RRP £20)

How excited was I to get this, even in a tiny tube? I don’t use eye creams as I’m one of those lucky people who don’t usually get puffiness or dark circles around my eyes. I have been noticing as I get older however, that my skin goes a light purple colour round the inner and outer corners which can make me look tired.
This is apparently the go-to product in terms of eye creams. It has rave reviews everywhere, and I have seen so, so many bloggers use it in their daily routines. I am really looking forward to trying this, as I am with any product which will slow things down a bit as I head into my late 20s!

IMG_0384 copy

De Bruyère Paris After Sun Lotion (RRP £9.48)

Sorry for the absence of a hyperlink, but my Chrome is just not liking that website at all.
Anyway, this is the beautifully packaged De Bruyère after sun and something intriguing happened with this, to me. It is scented with Monoï, which I had never heard of before. Apparently it is Gardenia petals soaked in coconut oil -even sounds amazing, no?
Have you ever had a scent before where when it hits you it is just ~ the one ~ ? You know, like when you’re picking out perfumes and you smell so many that are just nice, and then you pick one up and you know it’s the one you have to buy? Yeah, that.
I’ve had that before with scents (I once fell in love with a Woodwick candle that I knew I couldn’t buy because it would just be too expensive a habit), however this sent me a bit crazy. I only had a tester on my arm, and I could not stop smelling it, and soon I was googling perfumes and oils to see if I could get it so I could smell that way all the time.
My best bet – I thought – would be a Monoï oil sold by the Body Shop, however it didn’t smell very strong and not quite like this. So I will use this for now, but if anyone else can advise on how I can smell like this all the time I am 100% open.

IMG_0386 copy

Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Reconstructor Deep Conditioner (RRP £1.09)

DING DING DING Bonus product!!! And boy, am I glad to see you.
My hair is DA-MAGED. D-A-M-A-G-E-D. My hair has been every colour under the sun, and it was only a few months ago I decided to ditch the peroxide and go back to my natural dark blonde, however I can feel the awfulness right down to the ends still.
Do you guys get a little funny about opening products you bought for holiday before you go? Because I certainly do. And I coincidentally had just purchased Aussie 3 Minute Miracle in Beach Mate, but I don’t want to use it before I go, so now I can use this to get my hair looking and feeling great the day before I go, ya know, for all those airport photos >___>

Total Worth of Products: £51.23*

Overall Review:
The best box I have received thus far from Glossy. I will use all the products here, and not just because they’ve been received, but because I am excited to.

Kirsten xo

*price of the products is calculated by the price I can find it for either on the products’ website, or at a popular retailer such as Boots. If I cannot find the item/price, I will use Glossy’s RRP from the leaflet. The amount calculated is the full price for fullsize products, and calculated down by amount for trial sizes.

Listening to:

2000px-Xx_album_cover.svg

The XX – XX

6 comments

Leave a Reply

