June 2016 Birchbox Review

So right off the back of my May Birchbox review we have June!

Because of the late ordering time (I started my subscription at the end of May), I actually received this June box just a few days after my May box.
I was so excited to receive this box as I knew that Birchbox would be sending out special pineapple and palm tree boxes, and I received the lovely pineapple one πŸ™‚

IMG_0306 copy

This was a lovely summery box to open, but there was something different about this, which excited me – probably more than it should have:

IMG_0307 copy

Instead of a box, it’s actually a little drawer!
Now, I love packaging in general, because I’m sad like that, and I like reusing stuff, recycling stuff and I just generally have a lot of stuff that could do with being compartmentalised… but a drawer, particularly one as cute as this, is so great because I can put this up on my dresser with my other little drawers and things that separate my beauty products and jewellery.
Not only that, but it was really cool to be able to slide out and see all the goodies I had received:

IMG_0308 copy

This month definitely has a summer theme, and is filled with stuff which will help you feel better in the summer heat.

Products:

IMG_0309 copy

Percy and Reed Reassuringly Firm Session Hold Hairspray (RRP Β£12)

Percy and Reed isn’t a brand I have heard of, however I never shy away from a hairspray. It’s not something I use on a daily basis, so the sample size is actually perfect for me. I also like how the packaging is much nicer than the shiny little canisters you usually get hairspray in. Great for travelling and handbags.

IMG_0310 copy

Whish Coconut Milk CC Body CreamΒ (Β£15.50)

Whish is yet another company I’d never heard of which I’m glad to discover as they use all-natural organic ingredients. This body cream comes in a small but not tiny 22ml tube, and is a bronzer as well as a shimmer. It smells fantastic as it has coconut oil in it and is from their coconut collection, and has lots of gold shimmer. I’m not sure how great that would be all over the body, however I get the feeling it would be fantastic on the legs for that nice bronzed glow.
I don’t actually use any form of bronzer or tanner on my body as I’m so pale it just looks completely unnatural on me, however I will be giving this to my Mum as she loves this kind of thing and it does seem like a fantastic product.

IMG_0311 copy

Paula’s Choice Clear Ultra-Light Daily Mattifying Fluid with SPF30Β (RRP Β£29)

This is a product that just seems too good to be true. It claims to be a moisturiser, mattifying fluid, sunscreen, anti-aging cream and blemish preventative. An all-in-one product that would be great for cutting out several steps to your morning routine.
I have only done a small test of this so far, but the one thing that struck me was how runny it was. I expected it to be more like a cream, however it was very liquidy. I will be taking this on holiday with me, and using it in the evenings after using my Benefit Dream Screen received in my previous box during the day.

IMG_0312 copy

Pop Beauty Eyeshadow Trio in Peach Parfait (RRP Β£15.50)

I have heard of pop beauty before but I have never used their products, so I am looking forward to trying this out. It’s a cute mini trio of one of their bigger palettes in very shimmery colours, which as with the rest of the products received this time, will be fantastic in the sunshine and on those summer nights.

IMG_0313 copy

James Read Overnight Tan Sleep Mask Tan Face (Β£25)

This is one of those products that I will not use unfortunately, as like I stated, I don’t use tanning products. However, the idea behind this is very intriguing – a mask which can be applied to give a tan overnight. It is colourless so meant to suit all skin tones, however still recommended to be applied with a mitt. I presume so the tan doesn’t develop on your fingers.

Paradise Found Overall Review:

I really loved this box as it put me in the mood for summer. Although there’s a couple of products I won’t use, I think for most this box will be perfect for giving you that summer ready look, and because you get sample sizes in these boxes they are great for taking with you if you have a holiday booked πŸ™‚

K xo

 

11 comments

Leave a Reply

