My First GlossyBox Review

Good morning all. I have been MIA for a few days as I went to stay in my parents’ new house and spend time with my brother and sister. However, yesterday I had an exciting package!

I decided last week that I would invest in a monthly beauty subscription as I have been looking for new products to try out, and never usually know the first place to start. Of course I read a lot of blogs, which help, but I aspire to become someone who can help you guys decide.
I used to subscribe to Wantable, which is a US subscription. The boxes are amazing, however with the shipping it was super expensive for me, so I decided to go with a UK based company this time around. I have seen a lot of great stuff about both GlossyBox and Birchbox, so I have subscribed to both to see which I prefer. I’ll continue with both if I feel that they are equally worth the money. But today we are talking about Glossy!

IMG_0124 copy

As this is my first time subscribing with them, I received not only this month’s box, but their introductory box as well. With P&P this meant I paid approx £16 for 2 boxes.

Firstly, let’s talk about the packaging.

IMG_0126 copy

They are so beautifully packaged. The way in which they are wrapped makes it feel like you are receiving a present, which is obviously a super nice thing to be receiving just because. The boxes are sturdy and a dusky pink colour, and inside the products are wrapped up with pink tissue and a black bow, and sit on top of shredded black tissue paper.

love this, because I am obsessed with the way things are wrapped, and I can reuse all of this stuff. I’m already planning wrapping up one of the boxes and using it to present my Mum’s birthday presents later this month. What can I say? I like to recycle.

Ready, Set, Glossy Starter Kit

IMG_0127 copy

This was the box I received due to being a first time Glossy subscriber. These are the products received:

IMG_0132 copy

The Vintage Cosmetic Company Tweezers (RRP £8)

These are just super cute. I had never heard of this company, but they have a very vintage Cath Kidston vibe about them and I dig it. I love the print, and taking a quick look at their website, it seems they do this with all their products, which is really cute.

IMG_0133 copy

So Susan Haute Light Highlighting Pencil (RRP £14.95)

This is exactly the kind of thing that I was hoping would happen in taking out a subscription box. I had never heard of this company before, and now I have had the opportunity to go onto their website, I have discovered a really kitschy completely cruelty free beauty company. Perfection. After a quick hand test of this pencil, it seems like a pretty standard lighting pencil. I don’t really like calling products like this highlighters, as this is actually more the kind of product to put under eyes and on the brow bone, like a lighting concealer. I haven’t been blown away with it after one quick test, but we shall see how it performs on the harsh landscape of my face.

IMG_0139 copy

Minus 417 Catharsis Vitamin Mineral Shampoo (RRP £16.89)

I actually couldn’t find this product on Minus 417’s website, which is a bit disappointing if you wanted to purchase the full size of this product. I haven’t tried this yet, but the other products on their website look pretty fancy. It smells nice. I look forward to trying it, because if there’s one thing I don’t take care of – it’s my hair.

IMG_0137 copy

Makeup Academy Power Pout Glaze Low Voltage Gloss (RRP £3.50)

I received this gloss in the lightest colour ‘Hush’. It’s also the cheapest product in this box. I mean, it’s okay. It smells nice, but it took me ages to twist the bottom enough to get any product into the brush applicator. I probably wouldn’t use this much.

IMG_0140 copy

Nails Inc. Nail Polish (RRP £14)

Nails inc. has recently rebranded, so the price and packaging has changed, but I believe this colour is ‘Notting Hill Gate’. It’s a bright pink, but after a test on my thumbnail, it’s actually not as brash and unwearable as I believed it to be. It’s actually a super nice summery bright pink shade, as opposed to Barbie’s neon lipstick. Nails inc. is a great brand and usually their polishes are long-wearing, so I’m excited by this one.

Ready, Set, Glossy Overall Review:

I’m impressed by this first box. It shows a range of products which is indicative of what they try to do with their boxes: makeup products, hair products, tools. It’s quite cool to see the range of brands they have, from the affordable side of the spectrum with MUA, to Minus 417 which has products in the three figure range on their site. I’m also happy that with my very first box I managed to discover a new cruelty free brand, which was one of the things I was really hoping to be able to do.

Spring Preening

IMG_0130 copy

It took me a bit of hunting around to discover, but this actually appears to be Glossy’s April box. They did do a limited edition box in May which has really exciting products, so I take it they had run out of them by the time of my order. These are the products I received in this one:

IMG_0131 copy

Swiss Smile Whitening Toothpaste (RRP: £28.95)

I didn’t think I could get excited about toothpaste, but then again I’ve never had toothpaste in a fancy ass package like this. The tube is akin to what you would expect a luxury moisturiser to be in. It might sound silly, but I’m excited to use this and feel like a luxury bitch, because there’s no way I’m paying 30 quid for a toothpaste in the future.

IMG_0136 copy

Essence Mosaic Compact Powder (RRP £2)

A cheaper product which actually I’m interested to use. When I swatched this on my hand it came out like a super light bronzer. I’m guessing that this product probably wouldn’t suit most skintones, but on me I’m sure it will work well as a bronzer because I’m really pale. It’s really shimmery as well, which you can’t tell until swatching, so might be good in summer instead of layering up and mixing bronzers and highlighters.

IMG_0138 copy

The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalising Facial Oil (RRP £28)

This is the product that out of both boxes I am the most excited to use. I have extremely dry skin, but have never used a facial oil before. I’ve kind of found a routine that works okay for me, but like I’ve said, I’m looking to try new stuff. This oil is beautiful. You only need a tiny amount and it smells sooooo amazing. The reviews on the website are just incredible, so this is something I am very excited about. The driest area on my face is my nose, and you may see in some posts it looks a bit red, or like there’s not much product on. This is because it gets so dry that if I put product on my nose it just looks really flaky or patchy, so I will test this out on there in particular and see how we go.

IMG_0141 copy.jpg

Bandi Intensive Moisturising Cream (RRP £9.70)

Bandi are a Polish company which I had never heard of, but I am impressed that Glossy are using companies from other countries in order to expand their range of products. The packaging of this moisturiser is very 90s to me, but I guess you can’t judge a book by its cover. The moisturiser itself feels very watery to me, but my skin did feel smooth after using it. I’m not convinced that this is moisturising enough for me, though.

IMG_0143 copy

Studio 10 Brow Lift Perfecting Liner (RRP £22)

So obviously the best thing to point out about this brow liner is the support they have for LGFB. This is a cancer support charity I have been familiar with, but it’s even better to see that Studio 10 is a company supporting them, too. In terms of the product itself, it seems okay from a quick test. I’m not sure if it’s for me, as I’m so used to using gel and an angled brush instead of a pencil, but I have huge support for what this company is trying to achieve. It has great reviews, too, so probably a perfect product for those who like to use pencils on their brows.

Spring Preening Overall Review:

As is the thing with beauty subscriptions, you find stuff you like, and stuff you don’t like or just won’t work for you. To me, this is a good thing because it means you have the opportunity to at least try stuff you wouldn’t usually buy. To me, the facial oil and the toothpaste makes this box worthwhile.

Overall, I think I have a great range of products for the price. Obviously Glossy usually ships one box per month, which means you get 5 products for £10. Given that some of these are very expensive, I’m certainly willing to pay £2 per product to try stuff out and let you guys see a bigger range of products out there in the beauty world.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this, and that you look forward to my first Birchbox review which will also be up soon! For the minute, I will definitely continue my Glossy subscription, and I am excited to see what they have in store for June.

K xo

 

Listening to:

childishgambino-kauai

7 comments

    1. I’ve never heard of boxycharm to be honest, but it is very nice to open a little package like this with sturdy boxes. I used to get Wantable, and that arrived with the products in the packaging box, whereas this has another box underneath with giftwrap. Feels like you’re getting a present :] xo

      Like

    1. Ah that’s a great idea for the highlighter pencil! I would have never thought about that! Yeah the toothpaste I have been using now for a few days and it is really, really good but I would just never pay that much money. That’s why boxes like this are so great I guess! xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

