Lime Crime’s ‘Squash’ Velvetine

Good morning lovely people. I hope you’re all coping well this Tuesday after a long weekend (if you’ve been lucky enough to have one!). I hope it has been kind to you and the weather has been good :]

I’m really excited to be writing this post today, because for the first time in a long time I am the owner of a couple of Lime Crime products again.
I stopped using Lime Crime about a year ago after their problems with their site being hacked and credit card details stolen, after which I looked into the company and found some less than favourable info about the company’s owner (if you want to see some of this you can find it on here). This was unfortunate as at this time they probably had only half the amount of Velvetines they have now, and so I watched the launch of colour after beautiful colour, saddened that I felt I couldn’t buy them.

So why the change? Well, as I may have mentioned, I have been trying to make a shift in my makeup to only buying ethical products not tested on animals. This is why you will never find me with a MAC product (well, not until they change their policies at least). I’m still human and fuck up, and sometimes buy things from companies which I think are ethical and turn out not to be. You may note from this post that I own a lot of Makeup Revolution stuff, who do not test on animals, but their matte lipsticks don’t last the longest, and I’m looking for something a little more durable.
I had considered buying Jeffree Star, however recently I’ve been directed toward a bunch of racist and sexist comments of his, and he’s also very contradictory in his approach to business (he complained on social media about Kylie’s lipglosses, then berated a customer of his complaining on social media about his products, when he had a similar issue). I just don’t fucks with people like that.
My problem is that Doe and Jeffree create the best vegan liquid lipsticks out there. You feel me? Well, I’ve been tracking Lime crime, and from what I can see, Doe Deere has stopped being so much of a bitch to her customers, they worked hard to resolve the hacking issue, and in the UK customers also aren’t responsible for possible customs charges which may arise buying from them. So, I’m willing to give them another chance.

One thing I’ve had in my head is that I wanted an orange lipstick to go on holiday with. Not a coral, but an actual orange. I’ve found a few online, but Lime Crime had a sale on, and I ended up buying the more burnt orange ‘Squash’ velvetine, and the bright orange Unicorn Lipstick ‘Pocket Rocket’. I’m pretty impressed.

IMG_9921 copy

My package was due to arrive in about 9 days, and I think it arrived in 5. Not too bad considering. Of course, with all Lime Crime stuff, the packaging is beautiful. Lot’s of clouds and flowers and unicorns.

IMG_9924 copy

The packaging of the actual Velvetine was the same as I remembered the last time I ordered. It’s nice. Their packaging is one of those things you don’t really wanna throw out! I was pretty impressed the colour in the tube also appeared to look the same as the actual swatches I had seen: this is encouraging because it means the lipstick will usually be true to shade on your face.

I decided to try it for the first time when I was going to a BBQ at a friend’s house on Sunday.

IMG_9974 copy

As expected, the shade came out exactly the same on my face.

The lipstick actually smelled like Play-Doh. That doesn’t bother me that much, and I didn’t notice it at all after application, but that was just a little unusual for me as I remember Red Velvet and Suedeberry smelling kind of like Vanilla when I owned them.
The best thing about this was the application – I didn’t have any issues at all, which I usually do with lipstick application. For some reason I always seem to fill one side of my upper lip thicker than the other! This went on very smoothly and felt very creamy, with no dragging. It also went on as pictured with one application – I didn’t top it up at all.

IMG_9985 copy

One of the things I was also worried about was how it would make my teeth look. I do think the shade makes them look a teensy bit more yellow, but to be honest I wasn’t all that bothered, because I loved the shade so much I just didn’t let that bother me.

I wanted this shade to be the standout, so I went for natural matte colours on my lids instead of shimmers. My wings came out a bit bigger than I intended but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
They look good.

IMG_9991 copy

In terms of durability, I applied the lipstick at about 10.45am and took it off without any reapplying at about 7.30pm. By the time I came to take it off I did notice the colour was wearing a little, but it still looked alright. I hadn’t noticed it flaking on my lips at all, which is something I definitely notice after a bit with the Makeup Revolution lipsticks. The above description was after eating BBQ food like burgers and drinking beers. Which – I think – is incredible.

Makeup

No7 Match Made Concealer (Calico) | Barry M Get Up & Glow | L’Oreal Paris Brow Artist Genius Kit & Plumper | Makeup Revolution Parental Advisory Palette | Max Factor Voluptuous False Lash Effect | Maybelline Master Graphic Eyeliner | Lime Crime Velvetines in Squash

Have a good week guys and gals.

K xo

4 comments

Leave a Reply

