POP ELECTRIC

Happy Monday my dears. I’m playing catchup this weekend again as I have been ACTUALLY doing stuff! Le shock!

Here’s a look I did just before this weekend which I adored. Even though you will probably notice that I don’t have a lot of makeup, hence why you see me using the same 3 palettes continuously, this eyeshadow shade was one which I had not used before. I kinda just ended up applying it straight to my eyes not sure of the outcome or density and was super stoked to see it come out the way it did. I loved the colour so much I decided not to do any crease blends and went straight for a 90s one-colour lid look (with just a slightly darker colour on my lower lid).

IMG_8992 copy

I think I became brave because of the outcome of the eyeshadow, and that’s why I’m doing a bright pink lip.

Now, I never do a bright pink lip. I am very pro-red lipstick and used to wear it every single day with no eyeshadow and just winged liner, but in the past couple of years I’ve actually been leaning toward neutrals on my lips because they’re far more versatile and wearable colours as a SAHM who just pops to the shops and stuff.
Also, one of my friends is sooooo talented with makeup and bright pinks and purples are her colours – she works them so well I always think of them as her domain! When I first discovered Lime Crime about 4 years back (?) they only had 3 colours: Suedeberry, Red Velvet and Pink Velvet. I bought the two reds and told her about the pink because I knew she’d love it.

This one is not Pink Velvet, but what I would consider to be a very, very good, very, very cheap dupe: Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer in You Took My Love.
It is not as long lasting, which you would probably expect, but it is super good for the price.

I think I had actually only worn this colour once as I got it in a sale some time ago, but like I said above, it’s very bright and so not one I gravitate toward usually. When I saw the electric of my eyeshadow though, I had to apply it. I actually almost took it off when I looked in the mirror because it looked a bit ~ too much ~ compared to what I usually wear, but I decided to take photos to see how it looked on camera and that changed my mind.

IMG_8993 copy.jpg

Anyway. There’s my rather long explanation of this look. Here’s the deets:

Foundation: Revlon Colorstay Foundation (Ivory)
Concealer: No7 Match Made (Calico)
Contour: Accessorize Eye Shadow Trio (No longer available – yes, I mix these up as contour!)
Eyebrows:L’Oreal Paris Brow Artist Genius Kit & Plumper
Mascara: No7 Intense Volume (Black)
Highlighter: Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter (Golden Lights)
Lips: Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer (You Took My Love)
Eyes: Urban Decay Shadow Box (Sin – upper lid highlight), Makeup Revolution Parental Advisory Palette

IMG_9321

(Main lid colour)

IMG_9321 2

(Lower lash line)

It was a super hot day and with my tropical-esque makeup on I felt very holiday-like, even for the South West of England.

IMG_9004 copyIMG_9005 copy

Jeans:  Next (18 – similar style in larger size range here)
Top: Primark (20)
Glasses: London Retro (Jubilee)

K xo

4 comments

Leave a Reply

