90s Sunday Vibes

Sunny Sunday!

IMG_8342

Today I am channelling my inner 90s girl  and loving it. This is all part of a “brave new me” experimental-type thing I’ve got going on at the moment, where I push myself to try styles I’ve steered away from as a fat girl.

IMG_8333

Corissa at Fat Girl Flow recently wrote a post on how people perceive fat style choices when they are not deemed as “flattering” and that is something I’m looking to challenge myself with. Yeah, this outfit is relatively safe. I’m in black. I’ve got most of myself covered up. But honestly, there are things about this that are baby steps for me. My VBO (visible belly outline) is on show – I’m not wearing a floaty top to try and hide it. I’ve got turn-ups on my jeans that on looser styles I haven’t in the past perceived as “flattering”. I’m wearing a sheer shirt that still shows of my arms to a certain extent. I’m still on my own journey, and that’s okay! It takes time to love yourself completely and where I am today is a world away from this time last year. Hopefully I’ll still be able to say the same again next year.

IMG_8336.jpg

My biggest challenge this year is the fact that I’m going on holiday with a bunch of family. I don’t mind being around my Mum as a fellow fat woman, but there are going to be family members there who have never seen me in a swimsuit before. In fact, I haven’t been in public in a swimsuit since being this weight. Last time I wore a swimsuit was about this time last year when I was about 1.5 stone lighter on my sister’s hen do. Even then I put a towel around me right up until I got in the hot tub, and as soon as I got out.

In order to try and overcome this, I’ve got a new swimsuit and 2 cute as shit bikinis from Forever 21. I want to be pool side without being covered up. I wanna go swim and jump about in the pool with my daughter without worrying what people are thinking. I wanna have a fun fucking holiday and look hot as shit doing it.

Anyway, my point is that this is a journey for me. It hasn’t been overnight. It’s taking time. Small steps. Small achievements. Whether anyone else thinks it or not, for me this outfit is one of them 🙂

IMG_8340.jpg

Outfit deets:

Top: Primark
Jeans: As I stated before, as a small fat, I can sometimes fit in straight sizes at certain shops, so these jeans are a UK18 from Next, however here are some beautiful similar from Asos Curve which size up to 28 🙂
Shirt: Vintage find
Trainers: Adidas Gazelle Mens (other styles here)
Necklace: Accessorize (old stock unfortunately)

IMG_8325

Makeup:

Foundation: No7 Instant Radiance (43 Calico)
Concealer: No7 Match Made (Calico)
Blusher: Pantone Universe
Eyebrows: L’Oreal Paris Brow Artist Genius Kit & Plumper
Eyeliner: Makeup Revolution Line & Flick
Mascara: No7 Intense Volume (Black)
Highlighter: Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter (Golden Lights)
Eyeshadow: Urban Decay Shadow Box (Sin, Flash, Tornado, Bordello)

IMG_8318

Lips: My lips have been feeling really dry and in need of some protection especially now the sun’s out, so today I just have on Blistex Lip Relief, which has a bit of a tint and SPF.

Whatever you guys have been up to, I hope your weekend has been, and continues to be, brilliant 🙂

K xo

8 comments

    1. Thank you so much! I’m still getting the hang of all things makeup and exploring different looks and techniques but definitely will think about this when I’m more confident with it! Xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

