Peachy Keen & Mum Aesthetics

So today is Saturday, but for me it’s just any other day. My husband works shifts and these can include any day of the week, so he’s often working Saturdays and Sundays. As a SAHM, my usual work never stops either. I still have housework to do and a small human to keep alive. However, as promised in my last post, I am trying to take more time for myself & indulge more in things I like to do. As such, I thought I’d do a little MOTD and OOTD post.

IMG_8310

Today the sun was shining on this part of the planet and I was feeling kinda summery and glowy (thanks, great bedroom lighting!) and so I felt inclined toward the peachy and golden end of the makeup spectrum.

Now, this is not going to altogether be a makeup blog, however makeup is something I have really been getting into recently as I have been moving away from my comfort zones. For years I stuck to winged eyeliner and red lipstick – a look I still adore – but being a SAHM caused me to get a bit lazy with putting makeup on, and also to go for more simpler looks when I do go out. Now I put a lot more focus on eyeshadow that I used to, and am still practising blending and colour techniques, so bear with me if I have some really bad days! I also have terrible skin and I don’t like wearing heavy foundations/concealers so please deal.

Here’s my look and the products used:

IMG_8314.jpg

(Please note you will never get a straight-faced selfie out of this girl!)

Foundation: No7 Instant Radiance (43 Calico)
Concealer: No7 Match Made (Calico)
Blusher: Pantone Universe
Eyebrows: L’Oreal Paris Brow Artist Genius Kit & Plumper
Eyeliner: Makeup Revolution Line & Flick
Mascara: No7 Intense Volume (Black)
Highlighter: Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter (Golden Lights) – I ADORE this highlighter & it cost me like Β£3!!

Eyeshadow: Urban Decay Shadow Box (Sin, Freelove, Lost, Baked Cowboy)

IMG_8318.jpg

Lips: Stila Lipglaze (Creamsicle)

IMG_8320

I just feel like this was a really cute peachy summery look and I think I’m gonna try and recreate it more as the sun gets higher in the sky (high hopes for Britain!)

One of the things I find when I’m getting dressed in the morning is that my makeup dictates my outfit, instead of the other way around. Outfits are obviously a great expression of your feelings and personality that day, but I find my makeup is more so for me. If I’m feeling sexy, I’m more likely to go for a darker lip. If I’m feeling down, I go for dark eyeshadows. This would be my happy, relaxed look I guess. Because I went for peachy tones I ended up gravitating toward a burnt orange jumper in my closet.

IMG_8315

This is my chill mum vibe, haha! I’ve got no plans to go out today – just the usual housework, motherhood, getting the dog out, cooking and then chilling with a glass of wine on the sofa later – so this outfit is obviously more comfort than fashion. Yes, those are my slippers!

IMG_8316

These leggings and the jumper are both by South, which I got through Very. I never used to be very impressed with South’s collection, but I actually think they have been getting better, and their leggings I am devoted to as they are the softest ones I’ve encountered! They don’t have this jumper in stock anymore unfortunately, as I got it a long time ago, but it is also super comfy and good for being in the house. South sizes up to a UK24. The necklace is Forever 21 (similar here and here), which I adore, and they also have some cool smaller jewellry in recently, which I’m finding myself wearing more of.

Hope you enjoyed my first MOTD and OOTD – you’ll be seeing plenty more soon!

K xo

Leave a Reply

